Caution with Old Versions

December 2, 2019

Running software that is out of date puts your production at risk.  The best solution is a Wasatch Subscription, that provides continuous access to Wasatch service, and to all the latest releases.  Learn more here.

Wasatch only provides service for our latest release, which is currently Version 7.8.   Service is not available for older Versions.

Although service is not available, we do provide partial support for some older versions.   At this time, we provide downloads back to Version 7.2, and we will respond to requests for registration codes back to Version 7.2.     We do not provide help with installation of these downloads of older versions.  Anything older than Version 7.2 is over five years old, and downloads and registration codes are not available from Wasatch.

If you do choose to run software that is this far out of date, it is important to make a complete backup of your installation, to store safely yourself.    Ensure that along with your backup, you record all your registration codes.   Ensure that you not only make a backup, but that you are confident that you know how to restore from that backup.

Find backup instructions below.

Backing Up Wasatch SoftRIP

Wasatch SoftRIP and all its settings are stored in its installation folder. Simply copying that folder to a new location will normally back up everything.

The contents of the sub-folders named 'prtqueue.*' can be quite large, because this is where the rendered Print Queue data is stored. It may be a good idea to clear those queues prior to making a backup, if size is an issue.

On some systems, the Print Queues may be configured to be outside of the installation folder. That is the only case where a backup of the installation folder is not a backup of everything.

Because everything is normally in the installation folder, it is possible to have two different Versions of SoftRIP installed on the same computer at the same time. They cannot run at the same time, but by keeping them in two separate folders, a copy of an older Version can be kept "ready to run" while a new Version or build is being tested. This can provide an extra margin of safety when updating production systems.